Fashion Trust Arabia’s 2022 Judging Panel Has Been Revealed

Lindsay Judge   |   20-10-2022

This year’s edition of the Fashion Trust Arabia (FTA)  FTA Awards will take place later this month and its panel of judges has been revealed ahead of the annual event.


The FTA Jury will be responsible for the selection of five winning designers across five womenswear-focused categories: Evening Wear, Ready-to-Wear, Accessories (Shoes/Bags), and Jewelry (Fine & Fashion Jewelry), and the Franca Sozzani Debut Talent Award (Arab Fashion Design Graduate).


Iris Van Herpen


This year also includes a special award; the Guest Country Award, recognizing the strongest emerging Turkish Designer, in partnership with the Istanbul Apparel Exporters Association.


Zuhair Murad


Twenty-four finalists have been shortlisted this year, from over a thousand applications from across the MENA region by FTA Advisory Board members including industry heavyweights such as Adam Baidawi, Bryan Boy, Edgardo Osorio, Erdem Moragliou, Gaia Repossi, Gabriella Karefa-Johnson, Imruh Asha, Mary Alice Malone, Olivier Theyskens, Pierre M’Pele, Piergiorgio Del Moro, Tiffany Godoy, Alex Fury, Carmen Busquets, Fabio Piras, Nina Garcia, Patti Wilson, Sarah Andelman, Sara Maino, Saif Mahdhi, Sofia Guellaty and Wayman & Micah.


Advisory Board and Jury members will be present in Doha, Qatar to meet the twenty-four finalists during their collection showcase on 26th of October 2022.


Olivier Rousteing


The Jury will deliberate and announce the winners on the same evening, during the FTA 2022 Awards Ceremony at the National Museum of Qatar, under the patronage and presence of Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser.


The FTA 2022 winners will receive a financial prize and a personalized one-year mentoring program delivered by FTA’s retail partners and a global network of industry professionals, covering a variety of topics relevant to fashion businesses.


MATCHESFASHION will mentor the winners and carry their collections on their e-commerce platform. Harrods will mentor the evening-wear category winner and carry their collection in-store. Bicester Village will offer a bespoke mentorship to each winner with a tailored program. Maison De Mode will offer winners a mentorship on sustainability and Maison Pyramide will provide winners with showroom representation during Paris Fashion Week as well as PR consultancy.


Lorraine Schwartz

This year FTA is proud to receive the support of its distinguished sponsors, including Qatar Duty Free as Diamond sponsors as well as Galeries Lafayette Doha through Ali Bin Ali Holding and Chopard in partnership with Alfardan Jewellery as Platinum Sponsor. Their support to FTA’s mission in nurturing emerging designers from the MENA the region, is invaluable to the organization.


The esteemed FTA 2022 Judging committee includes:

Ruba Abu-Nimah – Creative Director Tiffany & Co
Yoon Ahn – Fashion Designer Yoon Ambush
Imran Amed – Founder & Chief Executive of The Business of Fashion
Gherardo Felloni – Creative Director Roger Vivier
Fernando Garcia & Laura Kim – Creative Directors Oscar de la Renta
Guram Gvasalia – Creative Director Vetements
Alex Israel – Multimedia Artist and Eyewear Designer
Michèle Lamy – Co-Founding Partner & Managing Director of Art/Furniture Owenscorp.

Camille Miceli – Creative Director Pucci
Amina Muaddi – Shoe Designer
Zuhair Murad – Fashion Designer
Pierpaolo Piccioli – Creative Director Valentino
Rachid Mohamed Rachid – Chairman Balmain and Valentino
Carine Roitfeld – Founder and Director of CR Fashion Book/CR Men and Founder of Carine Roitfeld Paris

Samuel Ross – Fashion Designer & Creative Director A-COLD-WALL
Olivier Rousteing – Creative Director Balmain
Remo Ruffini – CEO Moncler
Lorraine Schwartz – Jewelry Designer
Charaf Tajer – Creative Director Casablanca
Arnaud Vaillant & Sébastien Meyer – Creative Directors Coperni
Iris Van Herpen – Fashion Designer
Erin Walsh – Stylist

Stay tuned for more details on the event as they are revealed.