The Line Up Announced For The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships 2024

Emma Hodgson   |   13-01-2024

Four of the world’s top eight tennis players have been confirmed for this year’s Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships. 

Elena Rybakina, Jessica Pegula, Ons Jabeur, and Maria Sakkari have all been confirmed, along with reigning champion for the competition Daniil Medvedev, last year’s runner-up Andrey Rublev, as well as Hubert Hurkacz and Karen Kachanov.

This year’s tournament is set to take place in the city from the 18th of February to the second of March.

The WTA and ATP tournaments will run back-to-back from February 18 to March 2 and have consistently attracted an elite group of participants since their inception in 1993 and 2001 respectively. For now, Medvedev and Rublev, currently ranked No3 and No5 in the world, will be joined in Dubai by 2021 Wimbledon semi-finalist and World No9 Hubert Hurkacz, as well as Karen Kachanov, last year’s Australian Open semi-finalist and current World No15. Other names will be added to the lineup for the 32nd edition of the ATP Tour event in the coming days. 

Wimbledon winner Elena Rybakina will feature at the Championship

Meanwhile, the 24th edition of the WTA Tour tournament – which has been appointed permanent WTA 1000 status after rotating with Doha in recent years – is expected to feature almost all of the world’s top 20, with Elena Rybakina (No3), Jessica Pegula (No5), Ons Jabeur (No6), and Maria Sakkari (No8) the first to be confirmed.

Discussing this year’s event, Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman and CEO of Dubai Duty Free, said “For many years, Dubai has featured the world’s best male and female tennis players, so we are pleased to announce our first batch of elite male and female stars for this year’s tournament. Having the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships as a permanent fixture on the WTA 1000 ranking serves as a true testament to the tournament’s progress over the past two decades.”

Tickets for both the women’s WTA tournament and the men’s ATP event are available for purchase online on Monday 15th January from 12pm.